Online conversations and the misunderstandings they cause

I don’t know how to explain what happened to people that I don’t know, and I don’t understand it myself frankly.

Suffice to say, I posted to Facebook – my first mistake I’ll freely admit.  I HATE FB because people do not have filters on there.  They see something and they leap all over it, slamming the poster, and all without even asking for information or background.  They assume what you posted means XYZ, when you actually meant ABC or EFG (sometimes LMNOP!!).

Yup, you guessed it – my friends, or rather acquaintances now – and distant ones now, I’m that mad!! – basically flamed me online.  I knew it was going to be read, and probably misinterpreted (which is why a 4 line paragraph took me almost an hour to write – I wrote it and rewrote it, looking at it for any way in which it could be mis-construed), but I was hoping people would take it the way I wrote it.

NOPE – I am now without empathy, I am non-human apparently and I don’t have a clue what sympathy is either.  Whatever, I am so done with FB, I have no intention to ever go back.  People who know me know where to find me, and people who I classify as friends will do so.  And they will clarify what I have said before slashing me so publicly.  In fact they would never do it in the first place.  Friends don’t do that.  Friends don’t attack their friends EVER.

1 Comment

  1. I’m sorry about this — FB can really be a mess, and it’s a hard place to say anything important that isn’t a platitude. I’ve learned the hard way not to get in any discussion with friends of friends in particular. Hope you’re okay.

Leave a Reply

